Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (CTLLS)

By: Harrop Associates Limited  05/02/2009
Keywords: CTLLS, Teaching Qualification, Training Qualification

CTLLS provides “associate” teachers and trainers in the adult learning sector with the qualification to enable them to achieve Associate Trainer (ATLS) recognised professional status.

The Certificate comprises three mandatory core units and further optional unit(s) totalling 24 credits.

Contact time takes the form of 12 days of workshops and tutorials run over a frequency to suit clients.

You will gain the knowledge and skills required of the associate teaching and training role through the following units:


·         Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS): 6 credits

pre-requirement for CTLLS

·         Planning and Enabling Learning: 9 credits 

·         Principles and Practice of Assessment: 3 credits


Optional units will be a 6-credit combination of:

·         Equality and diversity: 6 credits

·         Preparing for the coaching role: 3 credits

·         Preparing for the mentoring role: 3 credits

·         Evaluating Learning Programmes: 3 credits


You will be expected to assign personal study time, which includes 30 hours of mandatory teaching practice on a one-to-one or group basis.

Your teaching practice will be observed for at least three hours, over a minimum of three occasions.


You will need to have completed one PTLLS and three CTLLS assignments.

PTLLS is a pre-requirement for completing CTLLS. The PTLLS award can either be undertaken as part of CTLLS or separately. CTLLS gives progression to the Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTLLS).


The programme is designed to be delivered to groups of 6 or more. The cost is dependent on the group size and includes CIPD registration/certification and learning materials. 

Keywords: CTLLS, Teaching Qualification, Training Qualification

Contact Harrop Associates Limited


Print this page